A quantum of science

In physics we do things and afterwards worry about whether they worked

The Christmas post

I have been posting very little in the last few months. This was because I was busy learning “textbook physics” (or more correctly “textbook science&math”) which I assume to be of little interests to you, the reader of this blog. However, having learnt a lot I am now starting to read research papers which I will post about (hopefully) frequently.

I am hoping to get on a flight tomorrow which, given the current weather situation in Europe, is almost certain to lead to me and my family spending prolonged periods of time at the airport. I have therefore equipped myself with some reading material to keep myself busy and I thought that I might share it with you:

 

    The authors discuss the concept of information causality by first postulating it to be a physical principle: “the information gain that Bob can reach about a previously unknown to him data set from Alice, by using all his local resources and m classical bits communicated to him by Alice, is at most m bits.” According to the abstract, they then suggest information causality as a way to distinguish physical theories from the non-physical ones. Sounds like a fun read!

     

  • Multi-particle entanglement, J. Eisert, D. Gross This is part of a book (presumably) on quantum mechanics from a foundational/informational point-of-view.

 

Abstract: We review the theory of multi-particle entanglement. In this book chapter we aim at briefly “setting the coordinates” and guiding through the extensive literature in this field. Our coordinate system chosen for this chapter has the axes labelled pure and mixed states on the one hand, entanglement in single specimens and the asymptotic setting on the other hand. We very briefly mention ways to detect multi-particle entanglement, and introduce the concepts of stabilizer and graph states.

 

  • James Munkres’ “Topology”, 2nd edition. This is one of the great many gaps in my science education. If I am stuck in the waiting room of some airport, this should keep me busy for quite some time!

 

I would like to recommend a series of papers on novel methods of DNA sequencing (yes,I have been doing some biology!), see the references in the following Nature News piece:

I would also point the readers of this blog  to one of my favourite blogs, Condensed Concepts. The author is Ross McKenzie, a condensed matter physicist from the University of Queensland, Australia, and he is astonishingly good at pointing out fascinating pieces of condensed matter theory that can be great fun to explore!

Merry Christmas, a Happy New Year and see you then!

Leave a Reply

